Fall 2016 HVALF Endorsements

Brothers, Sisters, Friends:

This election is vital for working families. We desperately need an economy that works for all people. To get such an economy, we need to help elect people who will fight for fairness and equity in our communities! On Tuesday, November 8 ,you have an opportunity to vote for candidates who have fought and will fight for us. It’s vital that we all turn out and support worker-friendly candidates this November. Below, you will find a list of our endorsed candidates.

The process we used to identify labor-friendly candidates had several steps:

  • As candidates approach us about endorsements, they complete an on-line survey to get our consideration. This survey covered a range of issues that matter to our members: wages, healthcare, retirement benefits, prevailing wage, and others.
  • The HVALF’s Committee on Political Education (COPE), which includes all members of our Executive Committee plus other delegates interested in participating, read each response.
  • We then met briefly the candidates who filled out our survey. This allowed us to ask follow-up questions and gave the candidates a chance to add to what they wrote in the survey.
  • With this information, supplemented with additional research where we thought it useful, the COPE made recommendations to the HVALF’s Delegate body at our monthly meeting.
  • The HVCLC Delegates discussed and voted on the COPE’s recommendations, with the results you’ll see on our list of endorsed candidates on the opposite side of this page.
  • Would you like to read candidates’ answers to our on-line surveys? As a member of one of our affiliates, we are happy to share that information with you. Just contact Ian Robinson at e.ian.robinson@gmail.com and he will send you a link to the HVALF shared documents folder where the responses are stored.

    Questions? Want to help our volunteers phone bank or canvass before November? Contact Jake Altman (734-730-4356).

    Here is a printable version of the endorsements list (PDF).

    State-Level Endorsements

    2016 State House

    • State House #52 (Washtenaw): Donna Lasinski
    • StateHouse#53(Washtenaw):Yousef Rabhi
    • State House #54 (Washtenaw): Ronnie Peterson
    • State House #55 (Washtenaw): Adam Zemke
    • State House #64 (Jackson): Ronald Kenneth Brooks

    Michigan Supreme Court

    • Debra Thomas

    State Board of Education

    • John Austin
    • Ismael Ahmed

    University of Michigan Regents

    • Larry Deitch
    • Denise Ilitch

    Michigan State University Trustees

    • Dianne Byrum
    • Diann Woodard

    Wayne State University Board of Governors

    • Mark Gaffney
    • Yvette Anderson

    2016 Local Government Endorsements

    Washtenaw County Sheriff

    • Jerry Clayton

    Washtenaw County Treasurer

    • Catherine McClary

    Washtenaw County Commission

    • District 1: Kent Martinez-Kratz
    • District 2: Michelle Deatrick
    • District 4: Felicia Brabec
    • District 6: Ricky Lee Jefferson
    • District 7: Andy LaBarre
    • District 8: Jason Morgan
    • District 9: Conan Smith

    Washtenaw County 14A District Court

    • Robin Stephens

    Washtenaw County College Trustee

    • Dilip Das
    • Marisa Huston

    Washtenaw County Millages

    • Washtenaw County 1.2-mill for Regional Transit

    Ann Arbor City Council

    • Ward 1: Sumi Kailasapathy
    • Ward 2: Kirk Westphal
    • Ward 3: Julie Grand
    • Ward 4: Graydon Krapohl
    • Ward 5: Chuck Warpehoski

    Ann Arbor School Board

    • Jeff Gaynor
    • Hunter Van Valkenburg
    • Harmony Mitchell

    Ypsilanti City Council

    • Ward 1: Lois Elizabeth Richardson
    • Ward 3: Peter Murdock

    Ypsilanti Township

    • Supervisor: Brenda Stumbo
    • Treasurer: Larry Doe
    • Clerk: Karen Lovejoy Roe
    • Trustees (4 seats): Jimmie Wilson Jr., Stanley Eldrich,Heather Jarrell Roe and Monica Ross-Williams
    • Park Commissioner: Gloria Peterson

    Pittsfield Township

    • Supervisor: Mandy Grewal
    • Treasurer: Pat Scribner
    • Clerk: Michelle Anzaldi
    • Trustees (4 seats): Linda Edwards Brown, Gerald Krone, George Ralph, and Yameen Jaffer

    Superior Township

    • Trustee: Rodrick Kevin Green

    Livingston County Commission

    • Dennis Andrzyczak District 4
    • Kristina Drake District 8

    Hamburg Township (Livingston County)

    • Trustee: Dan Luria

    Brighton Township (Livingston County)

    • Trustee: Jim Sarna