Huron Valley Area Labor Federation, AFL-CIO, Votes to Endorse Jack Eaton, Zach Ackerman, Jason Frenzel, Chip Smith, and Jared Hoffert for Ann Arbor City Council

The delegate body of the Huron Valley Area Labor Federation, AFL-CIO, voted to endorse Jack Eaton (Ward 4), Zach Ackerman (Ward 3), Jason Frenzel (Ward 1), Chip Smith (Ward 5), and Jared Hoffert (Ward 2) for Ann Arbor City Council. We endorsed these candidates for a simple reason. They will fight for working people.

When a few billionaires can use their nearly unimaginable wealth to influence our politics, our jobs, and our lives, working people across the nation are standing up to say, “we’ve had enough.” That’s why the Huron Valley Area Labor Federation is standing by these candidates.

Our endorsement process is designed to be comprehensive and efficient. Candidates who fill out the HVALF’s on-line questionnaire are invited for interviews. All candidates must fill out the questionnaire to be recommended or endorsed. Everyone who fills out an HVALF questionnaire is invited to meet with the HVALF’s Committee on Political Education (COPE) for an interview. The COPE discusses information gathered from the questionnaire, the interview and other sources, and makes recommendations to the full HVALF delegate body at its next monthly meeting. The delegate body discusses the COPE’s recommendations and votes on each.

Free and independent trade unions – the collective organizations of America’s working people – have been a cornerstone of our democracy for over a century. We are working hard to rebuild our labor movement. We support strong candidates who will unequivocally stand up for working people and their unions. Their support is vital to our efforts to build a strong labor movement, a stronger democracy, and a better America. Join us on Facebook by searching Huron Valley Area Labor Federation/AFL-CIO and send us a message or call our office at 734-730-4356 to get involved.


Urgent Action Needed on Healthcare Bill

Sisters and brothers,

For all of you who live on the west side of Washtenaw County and in Jackson County, and are therefore in Congressman Walberg’s 7th Congressional District, I want you to know that I just spoke with one of his assistants.

I called the office, at the request of the AFL-CIO, to see whether, based on two key provisions that will harm many of the constituents who voted for him, Rep. Walberg would be willing to vote against this bill.

1) The age tax.  Because the AHCA premiums are on a sliding scale based on age, older and more rural Americans bare the largest burden. A lot of these people are also union members. Premiums could spike for these retirees by $4,000 – $7,000.

2) The 30 percent premium surcharge on individuals who forego insurance for longer than two months. This functions much like the individual mandate. Except the penalty is often larger and the fees go directly to insurance companies.

Walberg’s assistant, Alex, who answered the phone and said everyone else was busy, said that Walberg publicly announced that he would back Ryan’s bill on Monday, despite concerns about these issues.

I urge you to do two things:  first, let your members know that Rep. Walberg has decided to replace the ACA with this, despite these (and many other) profound flaws in Ryan’s bill and tell them to call his office today and voice their grave concerns about this bill.

Second, please call Walberg’s office and let him know that you are spreading the word about his planned vote on this matter.  His Jackson office number is 517-780-9075.

In solidarity,


Robofraud – UIA Computers Falsely Accuse Laid-off Workers of Fraud


The Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) is falsely accusing laid-off workers of fraud. The UIA used a computer to make decisions about fraud accusations without any human oversight. The computer sent messages to obscure electronic message sites, often 6 months or longer after an individual had returned to work. When the individuals didn’t respond, the computer found them guilty of fraud and assessed 400% penalties plus 12% interest.

Innocent jobless workers were falsely convicted of fraud 92% of the time by a computer! HB 4982, sponsored by Rep. Roger Victory, will fix this gross miscarriage of justice.

HB 4982 would require the UIA to send second notifications of UI benefit redeterminations to laid-off workers by certified mail. The bill also requires human review of computer “Robofraud” accusations to make sure that the individual willfully and intentionally violated the law before pursuing an accusation or imposing fines.

We need your help to right this wrong and stop the persecution of innocent jobless workers! You can help by following these three easy steps:

1. Use this tool to find your legislator:

2. Find out if your legislator has co-sponsored the bill here:

3. Call or email your legislator and speak to them about HB 4982.

If your legislator has sponsored the HB 4982, thank them. If they have not, explain why this bill is important and ask them to support HB 4982. This bill is important because we know dislocated workers in our own community who have been charged with fraud by the Unemployment Insurance Agency’s computers. Tell them that Rep. Roger Victory has sponsored a bill, HB 4982, that addresses some of the issues currently wrong with the system and ask your representative to vote on this bill as released by committee.

Tell your representative not to allow amendments to this bill as it is a bi-partisan bill that was voted out of committee unanimously. It’s important that the bill’s provisions not be watered down if we are to win justice for dislocated workers.

Big Results for Working Families

Candidates endorsed by the Huron Valley Area Labor Federation won 84 percent of their primary elections.HVALF Results 1

The following candidates endorsed by HVALF won their primary races.

State House Recommendations

  • State House #53 (Washtenaw): Yousef Rabhi
  • State House #54 (Washtenaw): Ronnie Peterson
  • State House #64 (Jackson): Ronald Kenneth Brooks

2016 Local Government


  • District 1: Kent Martinez-Kratz
  • District 6: Ricky Lee Jefferson


  • Ward 1: Sumi Kailasapathy
  • Ward 4: Graydon Krapohl
  • Ward 5: Chuck Warpehoski


  • Ward 3: Peter Murdock


  • Trustees: Jimmie Wilson Jr. and Stanley Eldrich.
  • Park Commission: Gloria Peterson


  • Supervisor: Mandy Grewal
  • Treasurer: Pat Scribner
  • Clerk: Michelle Anzaldi
  • Trustees: Linda Edwards Brown, Gerald Krone, George Ralph, and Yameen Jaffer


  • Trustee: Rodrick Kevin Green


  • Ann Arbor Roads Millage
  • WCC Millage