Candidate Endorsements

Here are the Huron Valley Central Labor Council’s endorsements for the November 4, 2014 elections. To find the ballot for your county, visit the Michigan Secretary of State website.

Questions? Don’t hesitate to get in touch with Steve Gulick (734-355-7443), Ron Motsinger (734-255-1426), Tad Wysor (734-883-3225), or Wes Prater (734-944-0808).


U.S. House of Representatives Congressional Districts

7th Congressional District – Pam Byrnes
8th Congressional District – Eric Schertzing
12th Congressional District – Debbie Dingell

U.S. Senate

Gary Peters


Governor – Mark Schauer
Lieutenant Governor – Lisa Brown
Secretary of State -Godfrey Dillard
Attorney General – Mark Totten

Michigan State Senate

18th Senate District – Rebekah Warren
22nd Senate District – Shari Pollesch

Michigan State House of Representatives

42nd House District – Timothy Johnson
52nd House District – Gretchen Driskell
53rd House District – Jeff Irwin
54th House District – David Rutledge
55th House District – Adam Zemke

Michigan Supreme Court

Richard Bernstein – 8 year term
Bill Murphy – 8 year term
Deborah A. Thomas – partial term ending January 1, 2017

State Board of Education

Cassandra Ulbrich
Pamela Smith

University of Michigan Board of Regents

Michael Behm
Kathryn White

Wayne State University Board of Governors

Marilyn Kelly
Dana Thompson

Michigan State University Board of Trustees

Faylene Owen
George Perles

Washtenaw County

Washtenaw County Commission

4th District – Felicia Brabec
6th District – Ronnie Peterson
7th District – Andy LaBarre
8th District – Yousef Rabhi
9th District – Conan Smith

Washtenaw Community College Board of Trustees

Ruth Hatcher
David DeVarti
Mark Freeman

City of Ann Arbor

Mayor – Chris Taylor
City Council Ward 2 – Kirk Westphal
City Council Ward 3 – Julie Grand

Ann Arbor Public Schools Board of Education Trustees

Susan Baskett
Jeff Harold
Patricia Ashford Manley
Rolland Zullo

City of Ypsilanti

City Council Ward 3 – Brian P. Robb

Plymouth-Canton Community Schools Board of Education

Kate Borninski
Michael Siegrist

Judicial Offices

Washtenaw County Probate Court Judge – non-incumbent – Tracy Van den Bergh
22nd Circuit Court Judge – non-incumbent – Patrick Conlin

Livingston County

Livingston County Commission

2nd District – Jeanette DeFloria
4th District – Donald E. Pushies
5th District – Mike Tipton

Livingston – Howell Public Schools Board of Education Trustees

Grace Trudell